BALDWIN COUNTY
BUILDING DEPARTMENT

SWORN STATEMENT
OF PARTY CLAIMING EXEMPTION FROM THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE
HOME BUILDERS LICENSURE LAW, ALA. CODE§ 34-14A-1, et seq. (1975).

| do hereby solemnly swear that |, or the business entity of which | am the designated qualifying representative, am
exempt from the licensing requirements of the State of Alabama Home Builders Licensure law pursuant to Section 34-
14A-5 for the following reason (please mark appropriate response):

|:| | am an authorized employee of a federal, state, or local government exempt from this law and do not hold
myself out for hire or otherwise engage in contracting except in accordance with my employment.
Section 34-14A-6(b).

|:| | am a General Contractor holding a current and valid license issued prior to January 1, 1992.
General Contractors license# Section 34-14A-6(c).

|:| | am the Property Owner acting as my own contractor and providing all material supervision myself on property
for my own occupancy or use, and not offered for sale. | do not intend to use this permit for the constructing
or superintending of the construction of any residential building or structure for sale. (Proof of the sale, or
offering for sale, of structure by an owner-builder within one year after substantial completion of same is
presumptive evidence that the construction was undertaken for the purpose of sale). Section 34-14A-6(e).
| understand that this exemption is not transferable. | will not hire or compensate anyone to supervise the
building or improvement of this residence.

| understand that by claiming exempt status, | waive my rights for protection under the provisions of the Home Builders
Licensure law and that in the event of litigation involving activities resulting from the grant of this permit, | may not
make demand of any money from the Homeowner's Recovery Fund, established by the Home Builders Licensure law.

I sign this statement under penalties of perjury.

Property Address:

Property Owner’s Printed Name Witness’ Printed Name
Property Owner's Signature Witness’ Signature
Business Entity, if applicable Date

Date

*Violation of the Alabama Home Builders Licensure Law is a Class A misdemeanor (§34-14A-14)
punishable by up to 12 months in jail and fines up to $6,000.00.*

www.BaldwinCountyAL.gov/departments/building-inspection

201 E. Section Ave. 1100 Fairhope Ave. 312 Courthouse Sq., Ste. 14
Foley, AL 36535 Fairhope, AL 36532 Bay Minette, AL 36507
251.972.6837 251.990.4641 251-580-1886
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