​Drivers License
  • Please note:  This department does not have the capability to add a Star ID, out of state transfers, driver license testing, reinstatement, or changes to endorsements and/or restrictions. These transactions can be handled with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. For more information about STAR ID, please visit the ALEA website:(https://www.alea.gov/dps/driver-license/star-id). 

    Find your nearest Drivers License Examiner.

    This department
     processes Alabama Driver License or ID cards, renewals and replacements only. You can schedule an appointment at any of our Probate Office locations in Baldwin County - Bay Minette, Fairhope, Foley, or Robertsdale.  Probate Online Scheduling Portal.

    Renewal Fee:
    $36.25 valid for 4 years                               Alabama Online Renewal

    Replacements:
    If you have a lost or stolen Alabama Driver License or ID you must bring in at least 1 form of identification that is listed under the Primary Documents or Social Security Verification Documents on the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency website.  Most commonly used documents include your original social security card, a certified copy of your birth certificate or your passport.  You may also request a duplicate online at Alabama Online Driver License Services

    Name Changes: If you are wanting your name changed on your Alabama driver license you must have the following:
    1.   The social security card with the new name on it.
    2.   The name change documents:
    • Your marriage certificate
    • Divorce decree which includes verbiage specifying that you will be changing your name
    • Other court ordered change of name documentation

A duplicate fee will be charged for a corrected license.  
Commercial Driver License operators must go to a ALEA Driver License Office.    

Replacement Fee (for Lost/Stolen Driver License or Non-Driver ID and Name Changes): $31.25

For information on the U.S. DOT Intrastate number, please go to The Department of Public Safety Website at www.dps.alabama.gov.

Helpful Numbers to know: Information on Driver's License, Permit, State Identification, or Vessel License, please call: 251.660.2330 (Mobile) or 334.353.1470 (Montgomery).
Information on Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) please call:  334.242.3427

* Renewal / Replacement
Locations


Days and Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am until 4:15 pm
(except these holidays)

Bay Minette - map
​220 Courthouse Square
Bay Minette, AL 36507

Fairhope - map
Satellite Courthouse
1100 Fairhope Avenue
Fairhope, AL 36532

Foley - map
Satellite Courthouse
201 East Section Avenue
Foley, AL 36535

Robertsdale - map 
Central Annex
22251 Palmer Street
Robertsdale, AL 36567