
Notary Publics in Alabama 
What do I need to do once I receive my 

letter of appointment? 

Effective September 1, 2023, within 40 days from 
the date of the letter of appointment, the 
statewide notary must obtain a bond with sureties 
provided by an Alabama licensed producer of 
such bonds and approved by the probate judge of 
the county of residence in the sum of $50,000, 
payable to the State of Alabama and conditioned 
to faithfully perform the duties of notary public.  
The bond must be executed, approved, filed, 
and recorded in the office of the judge of 
probate of the county of their residence.  

How do I receive my notary commission?

Once the probate court receives and records your 
notary bond, you will be mailed a notary 
commission. You cannot perform any notary act 
until you have received your notary commission. 

How much must be paid to the probate 

judge to receive a notary  

commission? 

According to the Alabama Code, the standard 
fee collected by the probate judge for each notary 
commission issued is $25.00. However, the fee 
may be increased by local legislation. Please 
contact your local probate judge to determine 
the fee for a notary commission in your county. 

How long does a commission last as a 

notary public for the state at large?

The term of office for a statewide notary is 4 
years. Please contact your local probate judge to 
determine when you may begin the renewal 
process for your commission. 

Is a notary required to have a seal?

Yes. In order to authenticate the official acts of 
the notary, each notary must provide a seal. The 
impression or stamp of this seal must provide the 
name, office, and the state where the notary was  
appointed.  Notary seal may be purchased from 
office supply stores.

What is a notary public?

A notary public is an individual that acts an 
impartial witness in signing certain documents. 
The job of the notary public is to verify the 
identity, willingness, and awareness of any person 
signing the document in order to help prevent any 
fraud from occurring.  

Can I become a notary public?

Yes. You can apply for appointment with the 
probate judge of the county of your residence. In 
order to apply, you must submit an application, 
which can be found at your probate judge’s office. 

Is there an application fee?

Yes. Each applicant must pay a $10 application 
fee.  

What all do I need to submit with my 

application? 

In addition to a completed application form, you 
will need to submit a copy of your Alabama Driver 
License.  

What is the training program referenced 

in the application?

Effective September 1, 2023, all notary 
applicants , unless otherwise exempted by law, 
must complete a training program prepared by 
the Alabama Probate Judges Association and the 
Alabama Law Institute. This training program 
must be completed within 30 days after 
submitting your application and can be  accessed 
on the Alabama Probate Judges Association’s 
website (www.alpja.org). You will not be required 
to pay a fee to enroll in this program, nor will you 
be required to take a test to receive a certificate of 
completion. NOTE: Completion of any other 
training program will not satisfy the training 
requirement.  

What happens after I submit my 

application? 

Once you submit your application, the probate 
court’s staff verify your information and 
determine if you are fit to become a notary public. 
The probate judge will then either send you a 
letter rejecting your application or send you a 
letter of appointment approving your application. 



Notary Publics in Alabama, continued 
Can I be reported for notary misconduct?

Yes. Any party to a transaction where a notarial 
certificate is involved may execute an affidavit 
and file it with either the Secretary of State or 
your probate judge. Upon receipt, the Alabama 
State Law Enforcement Agency shall then 
conduct an investigation and refer their findings 
to a district attorney for prosecution. 

Once duly appointed, what may a notary 

public do?

A notary may administer oaths, take 
acknowledgements of or proof of instruments of 
writing relating to commerce or navigation and 
certify the same and all other of their official acts 
under their seal of office, demand acceptance and 
payment of bills of exchange, promissory notes 
and all other writing which are governed by the 
commercial law as to days of grace, demand and 
notice of nonpayment and protest the same for 
nonacceptance or nonpayment and to give notice 
thereof as required by law. 

What fees may a notary collect for 

services? 

A notary is permitted to collect a reasonable fee, 
not to exceed $10.00, for each notarial act 
performed.  

Does a notary public have to keep 

records to each notarial act?

No.  A notary public only has to keep a record of 
notarial acts and communications where two-way 
audio-video communication is involved. 

What is the penalty for performing a  

notarial act without a commission or an 

expired commission?

If any person performs a notarial act without 
being a notary or after their commission has 
expired, they are guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.  
If any person performs a notarial act knowing 
that they are not properly commissioned with the 
intent to commit fraud or intentionally assist with 
a fraudulent action, they are guilty of a Class D 
felony. 

This pamphlet, which is based on Alabama Law, is to 

inform and not to advise.  This pamphlet is not and 

shall not act as a substitute for the notary training pro-

gram mandated under Alabama Code § 36-20-70. No 

person should ever apply or interpret any law without 

the aid of a lawyer who analyzes the facts, because 

the facts may change the application of the law. 
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